DIY – Natural Face Scrub

IMG_2739-1ro997v3cm9mbj2eb2828r773bbpdnxyy41q6vdjlm5g

Recently, I have been more inclined to use natural products on my face and body. My skin has been giving me a hard time lately and I thought it’s high time I did something about it. I have very oily, acne-prone skin.

These three ingredients are easily accessible and easy to find in the kitchen. Mix them all together and voila! You have yourself a scrub. This is REALLY easy to make and SOO good for your skin.

I mix:

  • 1 tablespoon of brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of honey
  • half a lemon

This is more than enough to use once on your face. If I have any left over, I usually grace my hands and feet with its glory. I gently massage the skin in a circular motion; not too harsh.

Now let me tell you about its benefits:

Sugar is a natural exfoliator which cleanses the skin of dead skin cells on the surface and from within to reduce current acne and prevent any further breakouts. It is a source of glycolic acid which helps even out the skin tone and condition the skin. “Why brown sugar?’ I hear you asking. Brown sugar is not as harsh as white and therefore, better for the skin.

Honey is loaded with vitamins, minerals and antioxidants. It is effective in helping with acne prone skin as as it clarifies and cleanses the pores. Due to it’s natural anti-bacterial properties, it is great for further acne prevention. It also helps boost the complexion by creating a glow and is very nourishing for the skin as it attracts and retains moisture.

Lemons are also antibacterial and so, can help treat acne. They are very rich in vitamin C and citric acid which means they help brighten and lighten the skin over time.

After using this scrub for the first time, my skin felt uber soft. I now use this at least once a week, (maybe even twice) and have got my sister onto it as well! Please let me know if you try it out, and what you think? Are there any natural scrubs/masks that you use? Let me know.

Speak soon x

Leave a Reply

