Diary of a Pragmatic Paralegal – Month 4

The-Diarie-of-ideas

 

It’s now been nearly a month since I started working at my new job and I must say that I am settling in quite well. Much better than I expected.

I have an amazing team which is made of another five members and we are all of similar age so that helps of course. Not that there’s anything wrong with old(er) people but it definitely makes it easier to be working with people of similar age. Doesn’t it? I get on well with them, I really do.

Work wise, there’s a lot to do but I like being hands on and having things to do as it means that I won’t be sitting around bored. Although, I have to say that I wasn’t expecting to be doing so much right off the bat. I get training and everything but I just feel like I have so much responsibility. Not in a bad way, just a lot to take in I guess. It’s a good thing I have a very supportive team though. My fee-earner and the other Legal Assistant working with me, both, provide a tremendous amount of help so it definitely makes things easier in terms of getting the hang of things and settling in generally.

However, I do find that not many people talk to one another outside of their teams which I think is pretty weird but others seem to find it so normal. I’m not saying its not a friendly environment or anything like that, people just don’t seem to talk to each other.

Anyway, overall I think I’ve been placed in one of the best if not THE best team in the whole department and this is honestly the only thought that has kept me going. I have beenΒ doubting my decision and pondering over whether I’ve made a mistake by moving out of London and away from family. However, my team (especially my fee-earner) have really welcomed me into the team and the city.

I’m really hoping that things stay this way as I’m only just starting to feel secure in my decision and properly settle in. But you never know..

Leave a Reply

