Diary of a Pragmatic Paralegal – Month 3

The-Diarie-of-ideas

 

As most of you will know, I have now moved out of London so this was my final month at this firm. I’ve learnt so much here and will most definitely miss it. But onto bigger and better things, I guess?


Without a doubt, this was the easiest month for me out of the three as I’d gotten use to the way things worked. I had familiarised myself with all the files and had come to know what stage each file was at. I’d also learnt to deal with Clients and Estate Agents in the most appropriate manner, and was so much more self-assured than when I first started.

Looking back, I can see such a big difference in my work and I’m happy to be leaving having learnt so much. I guess being thrown into the deep end wasn’t too bad after all!? This month was so much more relaxed though. Or maybe it just seemed more relaxed because I wasn’t so confused all the time? I didn’t find myself second-guessing or anxious and literally just got on with the work.

At one point, my boss was away on holiday so I was alone in the office for about two days. And even though she was working remotely, I still think it was a big deal! However, I didn’t feel nervous at all and if anything, just felt that little bit more confident.

Even though I haven’t had much time to fully take everything in, I’m really excited about starting my new job. It’s pretty much the same job role (Conveyancing Assistant) but I know it’s going to be COMPLETELY different as it’s a much bigger firm and the work will be a little different too. At the interview, I was told that us legal assistants are supposed to handle the sale files entirely. Now, I don’t know if that’s going to be the case to start with but I do know that it means I’ll have more responsibility – which actually excites me more than anything. Those of you who know me personally, know that I am a workaholic and don’t mind getting my hands dirty!

All in all, I’ve had a good three months at this firm and I’ve learnt a lot more than I ever thought I would. Even though it was a roller coaster, I’m glad I got this experience because I know it’ll serve as a great foundation for me to start my legal career with.

I feel like this post didn’t make much sense and it probably didn’t but I think that’s because I’m just very overwhelmed and am finding it a little hard to put everything on paper so to speak. Hopefully, my next one will make a little more sense!

Until next month!

 

Leave a Reply

