Review: Nivea Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm

No this is not a mistake. And no I am not secretly a man. If you thought any of those things then you obviously haven’t been keeping up with the new beauty bloggers/vloggers trend. Every other Youtuber raves about this product being amazing as a primer.

Nikkie Tutorials started this trend and then one by one, each Beauty Guru seemed to be jumping on the bandwagon so I thought it was about time I got my hands on this! Let’s get into this review:

Like I said, this product is currently being used as a face primer by many women. Why are they using it as a primer? Simply because this product has a whole load of glycerin in it which the make-up sticks to. Also, it doesn’t contain alcohol so it doesn’t dry up your skin at all!

After wearing it everyday for about two weeks now, I think I do actually really like it. At first I didn’t as it made my face look really oily and I already have oily skin so I really didn’t need it looking any oilier. But I think that was because I wasn’t using it properly. You have to rub it into your skin until it feels kind of sticky.

The scent is obviously very manly and it did take me a little time to get used to smelling like a man but it’s not THAT strong. I don’t even think people around me could smell it but because it’s on my face, I can obviously smell it. The smell does fade away after a few hours though.

I like its texture, it’s very silk-like. It doesn’t have that silicon-y feel to it though, which most primers do. The formula is very thin; pretty runny but smooth. Feels very gentle to the skin and leaves it feeling nice and moisturised.

I found that my foundation/bb cream goes on much easier and just blends nicely. My make-up definitely stays on throughout the whole day.. I’d say upto 6-8 hours at least which is a lot more than what some high-end primers do!

The packaging is obviously not made to attract women but I quite like it. The bottle is a bit heavy as it is made from milk glass and has a plastic screw-on lid. There’s no pump or anything like that, you just pour the product directly from the bottle to your hand which I don’t like but it’s no biggie!

Price wise, it’s VERY good! I got mine from Superdrug for £5.29 which is pretty cheap compared to actual primers. And you get 100ml for that price so no complaints here.

Overall, I’d give it a 4/5 and would definitely buy it again. However, I don’t think I’ll be running out anytime soon! Have you tried it yet? What are your thoughts?

One thought on “Review: Nivea Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm

Leave a Reply

