Diary of a Pragmatic Paralegal – Month 2

The-Diarie-of-ideas

Honestly, I feel like I have been working for well over two months. That’s probably because a lot of the work comes naturally to me now. I definitely have a lot more self-confidence and just generally feel like I know what’s going on.

At first, I would get really confused as to who exactly I’m on the phone to; the Estate Agents, Solicitors or the Mortgage broker? I’d find it hard to keep up with what point of the case we’re at. Or when my boss would tell me to ‘call so and so and tell them this, this and that..’ it would go straight over my head. Now, it’s a whole different story. I know what she’s actually talking about and what we need to do. That’s probably why I don’t get anxious over phone calls anymore and can do my tasks a lot quicker.

I’m not going to lie, I do still think it is a lot of work but.. I really don’t mind doing it as it keeps me busy throughout the day and I am learning so much! However, a lot of the time I can be alone in the office as my boss sometimes has to work remotely and obviously it can get a bit.. not exactly boring but.. it’s just nice to have people around you know?

This past week has been crazy! Definitely the busiest week since I’ve been here. Because of the changes to the Stamp Duty from 1 April, everyone wanted to complete there transactions by 31st March. I think we had around 15 completions this week with 7 of them on Thursday! I was literally constantly on the phone that day and not just one phone may I add.

I can definitely ALREADY see a difference in my work; I guess I’m just a fast-learner. And to be honest, I’m really glad that I can pick things up easily because I’m not very fond of feeling like I’m not in control! That’s not to say I know enough though.. I still have a lot to learn and hopefully I’ll learn more sooner rather than later. I want to be able to start handling my own caseload in a couple of months time. What? I like to be optimistic 😀

 

 

2 thoughts on “Diary of a Pragmatic Paralegal – Month 2

Leave a Reply

