Show Review: Mann Mayal

 

So I recently started watching this show and I have to say I am  SO OBSESSED! Taking it back to my roots, I think one of the reasons I am so excited about this show is that it is based and shot in my hometown as not many shows are.

Now, I’m not one to usually watch Pakistani or Indian shows but if I do feel like watching one, it’ll be Pakistani. I feel like Pakistani shows are so close to reality rather than a portrayal of something else.For example, Indian shows (no offence to any Indians out there) are just too overly dramatic for me. They’ll stretch out the show for years and years because nothing happens in the half an hour time slot allotted to each show. I mean come on, I’m sure the females in the house do not wear that much make-up and jewellery on a day-to-day basis? And why when the tiniest thing happens do they have to over dramatise it and make it seem like the world has come to an end?! They’ll literally show each and every persons “surprised” reaction because the daughter in law dropped a plate. REALLY?!

I’m sorry, I could go on and on but my point was that this kind of stuff doesn’t happen in Pakistani shows. The houses do not look like castles and the costumes are not wedding wear – it is all kept very simple just like it would be in reality.

94642_1_mag

Coming on to the actual story of the show, I’m not going to say much except that I love the story line! It’s based around how two completely different personalities end up falling in love but can’t be together for family/society reasons.

The actors have done an AMAZING job, especially Hamza Ali Abbasi. I’ve seen his previous work and recently watched his movie: ‘Yeh Jawani Phir Nahi Aani’ but nothing compares to his performance in this show. His expressions, dialogue and the intensity he has is all so intriguing and engaging.

Maya Ali has done a very good job as well. She plays a bubbly small-town girl so perfectly and it’s so interesting to see how her lively personality dies down due to the changing circumstances as the show goes on.

Feel free to have discussions about the show and tell me your thoughts if you watch it. If you don’t watch it, then you NEED to! I personally feel like it is better than Humsafar.. there, I said it.

 

 

 

facebook-4-512 imagestwitter

 

4 thoughts on “Show Review: Mann Mayal

  1. Sprinkle of Surprise says:

    watching this currently in the US as well with my fam! i love the actors, but the story is kiling me a bit! it’s a little crazy her marrying the other guy and how weird he is, and the conflict between mannu and salahuddin is so unreal. it could’ve been easily resolved if all parents just cooperated. sigh. hopefully it’ll have a nice twist and end! lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ramsha Vistro says:

      I know 😦 i have to admit it is a bit stupid that they didn’t get married cuz of money but that’s how it is even in reality 🙄
      And I think that was expected of Mikail because they had to show how even though he has money, she isn’t happy. I’m guessing mannu and salahuddin will end up together though, or let’s hope 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Erum says:

    Don’t worry, you are not the only one obsessed with this drama.. I’m watching this from Pakistan!

    I personally don’t understand why Mannu isnt telling her parents about her husband because then maybe they will make things better. I think the programme is going a bit slow now because nothing has happened in the last two episodes with mannu and salahuddin. Lets see what happens on monday! cant wait!

    Maybe you should do another update after the next episode?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ramsha Vistro says:

      Haha thanks Erum, that makes me feel a bit better about my obsession!

      And yeah, I don’t understand why Mannu doesn’t tell her parents either. I guess it’s the whole ‘not upsetting your parents and being a good daughter thing.’ Right?

      And I agree, it has been pretty slow the last two episodes, lets hope Monday’s episode is a bit better. I can’t wait either! I will try and do a follow-up post.. just waiting for something exciting to happened!

      Like

Leave a Reply

