Diary of a Pragmatic Paralegal – Month 1

The-Diarie-of-ideas.jpg

It’s been a month since I started working as a Conveyancing Assistant and I have to say, I am very much enjoying it! After about a hundred job applications and two months of searching I finally secured this Legal Assistant/Paralegal job.

This role is a bit different to others though, and the reason I say this is because my boss is a sole practitioner; therefore, it is just me and her in the office. Yes, just the two of us. You may be wondering how she (alone) handles all the caseload. I still wonder the same, even a month later. She did everything from the e-mails and phone calls to the legal proceedings and accounts – I guess that’s an example of hard work eh?

Now that I’m here, I carry out most of the general correspondence with regards to updating Clients and Managing Agents, daily e-mails and sending out formal letters. I even do the Land Registry forms! It’s funny to think that I am actually getting excited about this but it’s because I am genuinely happy to be working within a legal environment where I do ACTUAL legal work rather than just the general admin stuff we end up doing when on vacation schemes. Plus, I’ve always loved land law! (No I’m not crazy).

I’m not going to lie, it was a bit daunting at first; having to share an office with my boss and her having the ability to watch everything I do. I was very nervous about making mistakes (as anyone would be) because I started working straight away, since the very first day. What I mean by that is, I didn’t have any formal training. That’s not to say that she was expecting too much from me straight off the bat, she was actually pretty lenient with any mistakes I would make or my confusion with some aspects. However, I did feel at times that I was thrown into the deep end but I guess that’s the best way to learn no? More experience within a shorter amount of time – as people say, it’s the quality not quantity that counts.

I use to think my written and verbal communication was excellent you know, based on all my previous experience. I mean, I’ve carried out many mini pupillages and vacation schemes but it is only now that I have come to realise that all this previous experience was not even half of what goes on in reality. It really was just an ‘insight’. But I guess you can’t really get much realistic experience just by shadowing, right? It only counts when you actually do the practical things yourself.

After working here a month now, I am pretty confident with phone calls and writing formal e-mails/letters. I do get a tiny bit nervous at times but nowhere near how I was two or three weeks ago! I think one of the reasons I would get anxious though was because I’m usually very hard on myself and don’t allow myself to make mistakes. That’s one of many problems of being a perfectionist I tell you.

I’m going to stop the post here now as it’s wayyy too long but I’m going to do monthly posts with an update about how I’m getting on at work.

 

4 thoughts on “Diary of a Pragmatic Paralegal – Month 1

  1. Aaron says:

    It’s nice to see someone else in the same boat as me! I’ve recently just started working in a law firm too and I know how you feel. This is such a great idea though, keeping an online diary. After a couple of months you can read back and see how much you have progressed!

    Looking forward to more diary entries 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

