First Impression: MAC Cosmetics Studio Waterweight SPF 30 Foundation

mac_studio_waterweight_foundation_duo

I have worn this foundation I think.. maybe twice and I wanted to share my first impression with everyone!

So the first thing that attracted me to this foundation was actually the ‘waterweight’ part. It truly is weightless. I literally cannot feel it on my face regardless of how long I have been wearing it for. I think the most amount of time I have worn it for is about 11 hours and it didn’t feel cake-y at all – It wasn’t like I couldn’t wait to get it off my face when I got home.

It has a gel serum formula but I think it definitely feels more like a serum. It claims to be hydrating and I have to agree. Once applied, my skin instantly feels hydrated. Even though I have combination skin (more towards the oily side) I still wanted to try this out and I have to say I am so glad I did. I have rough patches around my nose and in between my eyebrows but they vanish once I apply the foundation. My cheeks tend to get very oily usually but not with this foundation; which I was really surprised about because I was expecting it to look pretty cake-y in my oily areas.

The finish is a balance between matte and dewy so it is a somewhat satin finish which is my personal favourite because I neither look super oily nor super dry. It has a sheer but buildable coverage. Now, I usually go for foundations with more of a fuller coverage but I feel like I don’t need it with this foundation as it really blurs out my imperfections. I do apply two layers though.

mac-studio-waterweight-spf30-foundation-review-3

Moving on to the actual packaging and applicator of the foundation; the bottle is pretty heavy as it’s glass  and I’m not a big fan of the applicator as it can get pretty messy and I personally think it is unnecessary to have a dropper applicator. It might help a bit with the texture but I would have definitely preferred a pump.

IMG_8955

I know this isn’t the best photo but we’ll work with it. The best thing about this foundation is that it is SPF 30 but there’s no flashback! And as you can see in this photo my face matches my neck and looks completely fine. My biggest pet peeve is gray faces in photos – I just hate it! So I love that this foundation can protect my skin without me worrying about looking like a ghost in photos. I am in the shade NC 44 by the way.

All in all, I love this foundation and I normally wear the Mac Studio Fix Fluid Foundation but I think I’ll be switching to this new one now as the Fluid is a bit thicker and I can’t wear it on my face for too long as it feels/looks cakey.

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-285-D4CFB588CFD9D760509FFB155A5396EA

6 thoughts on “First Impression: MAC Cosmetics Studio Waterweight SPF 30 Foundation

    • Ramsha Vistro says:

      I have a few acne scars and tbh it covers most of them but not the really dark ones so I wouldn’t say it’s really full coverage but I think if you put a couple of layers on then it might work for you depending on what you need the fuller coverage for. Hope that helps 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

