Graduation Make-Up: What’s On My Face?

 As promised, here’s the post about how I did my hair and make-up for my big day!

For a day like this, I wanted my make-up to last really long and not melt off my face! Even though the weather in England isn’t really that hot, I knew I’d be running around in my robe all day and taking pictures, so I wanted it to be perfect.

So let’s start off with the base:

I used the Dior Capture Totale Dreamskin as my primer. Although this isn’t essentially just a primer, you can definitely use it as one. It has been said to create a flawless base for your foundation to go on top. I did find that it evened out my skin tone quite a bit and kind of blurred out some of the imperfections if that makes any sense. I had tried this previously and I loved how it felt on my face. It has a somewhat silicone-y feel which I personally like and is really lightweight, I don’t feel it on my face. It is also a sort of salmon/peach colour and I guess that’s to even out the skin tone and help with the colour correcting.

After that I used the Max Factor Pan Stick in 14 – ‘Cool Copper’ on and under my eyes, and on any blemishes I had. I feel like I never hear about this product anywhere and I’m really surprised because this is my holy grail, I cannot live without! It cancels out my dark circles instantly! This also has a salmon-y shade to it which helps colour correct.

For foundation I mixed the Dior Diorskin STAR in the shade 41 with the new Mac Studio Waterweight Foundation in 44. The reason I mixed them is because the Dior one was a bit too light for me and the Mac one just a tiny bit darker than my complexion so mixing them made the perfect shade. Both of these foundations are super lightweight – yes, I have tried them on separately. Even though I had heard about the Dior Star not having a flashback issue, I was a bit weary of the Mac one as this also has an SPF of 30. However, to my surprise, this did not make me look gray in the pictures either! Now, this might be because I mixed it with the Dior one but I wore it alone yesterday and it did not have a flashback. So that’s a big plus point!

I would say both these foundations are sheer to medium coverage but build-able. I usually go for full coverage but I find full coverage foundations to be really thick and cakey and I didn’t want to look like cake-face on my graduation! So, I found it more feasible to just build up a sheer foundation. I used the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush to apply it and then blended it out with the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge.

To brighten up the face, I used my trusty Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 20 – ‘Sand’. I made the upside down triangle under my eyes, a line down my nose and the tiniest bit on my forehead and chin. To set all that, I used the highlighting powder from the Barry M Chisel Cheeks Contour Kit.

I then set my face with the Laura Mercier Translucent Setting Powder and moved on to contouring. I like to bronze my face first otherwise my face looks too ashy from the contour colour. I used the Bourjois Chocolate Bronzer in 51. It gives the most subtle bronze to my face which was perfect as I didn’t want to over-do it. I then went back to my Barry M kit and used the darkest shade from that to carve out my cheek bones.

For blush, I used one that I got when I was in Canada – it’s from ‘Annabelle Cosmetics’ in the shade 48. It’s like a deep pinkish maroon colour which I thought tied in with my outfit really well. It is very sheer though, so I had to build it up a bit but not too much as I didn’t want bright red cheeks. I used a Kiko Infinity Eyeshadow in ‘236’ for my highlight. It’s not an in your face highlight and that’s what I love about it. I just put that on the highest points of my face: top of my cheekbones, nose, above and below my eyebrow arch, and a tiny bit on the chin. Finally, I like to go over my whole face with the loose powder again just to merge everything together.

For the eyes, I used a couple of shades from all the Naked palettes. Yes, all 3. I mixed ‘Half Baked’ and ‘Chopper’ for my lid. Then I picked up a bit of the Bourjois bronzer on a big fluffy brush to blend out the harsh lines. Next, I took ‘Sketch’ from Mac on an angled crease brush and concentrated that deeper into my crease and outer V; winging it out slightly. After that I took ‘Darkhorse’ on a pencil brush and put it in my crease but only just creating a blurred out line, and also took that to my outer V. I finally blended all that together with my fluffy brush with no extra product on it. For highlighting my inner corner and brow bone I used ‘Strange’. For my lower lash line I took the pencil brush and used whatever was left on it to run it along the outer part of the lower lash line.

For my winged eyeliner I used the Kiko Ultimate Pen Longwear Eyeliner. I then put two coats of the Maybelline Leather Black Mascara and topped that off with a coat of the Rimmel Lash Accelerator. For the bottom lashes I only used the Rimmel one. I am also wearing false lashes which is new for me as I never wear them! I’m wearing the ‘Eyelure London’ ones (which i got in Boots) in the style 110.

Eyebrows: I naturally have pretty full eyebrows but because I dyed my hair brown I wanted my eyebrows to match. I used the Avon Glimmerstick Brow Definer in ‘Dark Brown’ to go over all my black hair also filling in any sparse areas. I then brushed through my eyebrows with a spoolie to get rid of any excess product. I then set them with the LOreal Brow Artist Plumper in Dark Brunette.

On my lips I’m wearing one of the Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipsticks in the shade ‘Grand Cru’ – 08.

Moving on to hair, I had oiled and washed it the day before. I had also used the Avon Planet Spa hair mask for extra conditioning. I curled it using the John Freida Loose Curls Ionic Styling Hair Tong. I did use the TRESemmé Strengthening Heat Protect Spray on my damp hair. Then I waited for it to air dry and used the Avon Advance Techniques Heat Protection Styler before actually curling it.

I think that’s everything! Please feel free to comment and ask me any questions you may have 🙂 this is already a really long post otherwise I would have included the skincare products I used beforehand but I will have a skincare routine up soon!

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-285-D4CFB588CFD9D760509FFB155A5396EA

3 thoughts on “Graduation Make-Up: What’s On My Face?

Leave a Reply

